Brother Cadfael's Penance

Brother Cadfael's Penance

Book - 1994
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The golden autumn of 1145 finds Brother Cadfael's peaceful world of the Abbey of St. Peter and St. Paul greatly disrupted when an official courier brings news of a terrible betrayal. Philip FitzRobert, the Empress Maud's greatest champion, has turned his coat and declared for King Stephen, imprisoning 30 of his vassal knights and squires who held true to the Empress. All of this political upheaval should not really affect an elderly monk, but when Hugh Beringer sees the list of imprisoned men, he and Cadfael recognize the name of Olivier de Bretagne. Fans of the series will also recognize the name of Cadfael's son, who was conceived during the Crusades, years before Cadfael was a monk. This young man has cropped up previously, but he is a pivotal character here because it is to rescue him that Cadfael breaks his vow of obedience and leaves his cloistered life. This is the 20th and final entry in Peters's beloved series and one of her best books.
Publisher: New York : Mysterious Press, Warner Books, c1994
ISBN: 9781572702820
Branch Call Number: F PET
Characteristics: 292 p. : 22 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Baltimorewoolif Feb 04, 2016

The penultimate Brother Cadfael - the last of the series and the most satisfying, completed near Partager's own death.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at DPL

To Top