Ghost of the White Nights

Ghost of the White Nights

Book - 2001
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
In a new novel of alternate history, Johan Eschbach, Professor of Environmental Science and occasional secret agent, and his singer-wife, Llysette, head for Russia on a cultural exchange tour designed to promote an oil concession deal for Columbia, but their mission takes a perilous turn when they discover that Russia is developing a deadly new weapons technology. 20,000 first printing.

McMillan Palgrave
Set in a fascinating alternative world in which ghosts are real, the United States never came into existence, and Russia is still ruled by the Romanovs, this sequel to Of Tangible Ghosts and The Ghost of the Revelator continues the adventures of semi-retired spy Dr. Johan Eschbach.

His lovely wife Llysette du Boise, a refugee from the burning remains of France and a world-famous vocalist, has been invited to provide a command performance for the Russian Imperial household. Johan accompanies her, allowing him to work on the oil concession in Russian Alaska that Columbia so desperately needs and do some spying on the side. Johan’s espionage is carried out against the backdrop of the famous white nights of St. Petersburg, the nearly Arctic midsummer when the sun barely dips below the horizon and the sky seems to dissolve in ivory light. But even the oil shortage will fade to insignificance when Johan discovers what new weapons technology the Russians are developing, a threat even more fearsome than the atomic bombs of Austro-Hungary.

Working in the tradition of Gordon R. Dickson and Poul Anderson for hard-edged adventure with sophisticated social and political dimensions, Modesitt provides a unique blend of speculation and intrigue that brings the trilogy to a rousing end.


Holtzbrinck
Set in a fascinating alternative world in which ghosts are real, the United States never came into existence, and Russia is still ruled by the Romanovs, this sequel to Of Tangible Ghosts and The Ghost of the Revelator continues the adventures of semi-retired spy Dr. Johan Eschbach.

His lovely wife Llysette du Boise, a refugee from the burning remains of France and a world-famous vocalist, has been invited to provide a command performance for the Russian Imperial household. Johan accompanies her, allowing him to work on the oil concession in Russian Alaska that Columbia so desperately needs and do some spying on the side. Johan’s espionage is carried out against the backdrop of the famous white nights of St. Petersburg, the nearly Arctic midsummer when the sun barely dips below the horizon and the sky seems to dissolve in ivory light. But even the oil shortage will fade to insignificance when Johan discovers what new weapons technology the Russians are developing, a threat even more fearsome than the atomic bombs of Austro-Hungary.

Working in the tradition of Gordon R. Dickson and Poul Anderson for hard-edged adventure with sophisticated social and political dimensions, Modesitt provides a unique blend of speculation and intrigue that brings the trilogy to a rousing end.


Blackwell North Amer
This is the concluding novel of the alternate-history adventure trilogy that Modesitt began with Of Tangible Ghosts and The Ghost of the Revelator.
Doktor Johan Eschbach, Professor of Environmental Science and semi-retired secret agent, and his lovely wife, the world-renowned singer Llysette, return for another adventure, this time in Russia. Their world is an intriguing alternate present in which many things are changed. What we know as the eastern United States is the nation of Columbia, and Russia is still ruled by the Romanovs.
Johan had hoped for a quiet life of teaching. Llysette, a refugee from the burning remains of France, has put her time in the prison camps of the Hapsburg Empire behind her and successfully resumed her singing career. But the Columbian government cannot afford to waste their particular talents and calls upon them again.
Llysette is being sent on a cultural exchange mission to St. Petersburg, where she will sing for the Tzar. Johan will, of course, accompany her, allowing him to work behind the scenes on the oil concession in Russian Alaska that Columbia so desperately needs. But even the oil shortage will fade to insignificance when Johan discovers what new weapons technology the Russians are developing, a threat even more fearsome than the atomic bombs of Austro-Hungary.

Baker
& Taylor

Johan Eschbach and his wife, Llysette, head for Russia on a cultural exchange tour designed to promote an oil concession deal for Columbia, but their mission takes a perilous turn when they discover that Russia is developing a deadly new weapons technology.

Publisher: New York : TOR Books, Tom Doherty Assoc., c2001
Edition: lst ed
ISBN: 9780765300959
0765300958
Branch Call Number: F MOD
Characteristics: 398 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at DPL.

Try searching for Ghost of the White Nights to see if DPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top