All Saints' Day

All Saints' Day

Book - 2002
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
All Saints' Day is a bold and provocative southern novel in the tradition of Walker Percy and John Kennedy Toole. Brent Benoit's debut movingly chronicles two generations of the Bueche family of Maringouin, Louisiana, a family of Cajun ancestry that has been defined by a tragedy-the accidental death of their gifted, infant child at the hands of his feeble twin brother. The lives of both parents, Ulysse (a.k.a. Russell) and Doreen, are driven toward this event, and in putting it behind them the child's brothers, Whitaker and Clayton, reach toward resolution while teetering on the verge of catastrophe.

In All Saints' Day the lives of simple people attain the status of myth. It is a novel that both captivates the reader in its rendering of a vanishing culture and surprises at every turn. Tautly written, harrowing and heart-filled, All Saints' Day marks Brent Benoit's emergence as a writer to watch.

Baker & Taylor
Follows two generations in the lives of the Cajun Bueche family of Louisiana, which is marked by the tragic accidental death of a gifted infant child at the hands of his disadvantaged twin brother. A first novel. 10,000 first printing.

Blackwell North Amer
All Saints' Day is a southern novel in the tradition of Walker Percy and John Kennedy Toole. Brent Benoit's debut movingly chronicles two generations of the Bueche family of Maringouin, Louisiana, who have been defined by a tragedy - the accidental death of their gifted, infant child at the hands of his feeble twin brother. It is an event that seems almost preordained, sending shock waves into both the past and future. The lives of both parents, Ulysse (a.k.a. Russell) and Doreen, are driven toward it, and in putting it behind them the child's brothers, Whitaker and Clayton, reach toward resolution while teetering on the edge of catastrophe.

Baker
& Taylor

Follows two generations in the lives of the Cajun Bueche family of Louisiana, which is marked by the tragic accidental death of a gifted infant child at the hands of his disadvantaged twin brother.

Publisher: Woodstock, NY : Overlook Press, 2002
ISBN: 9781585673124
1585673129
Branch Call Number: F BEN
Characteristics: 236 p. ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top