Common Phrases and Where They Come From

Common Phrases and Where They Come From

Book - 2001
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Provides the history behind more than 150 well-known English phrases, including bury the hatchet, face the music, kick the bucket, lame duck, lion's share, and nest egg.

Globe Fearon Co

In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves and Anguished English, Common Phrases is a fascinating guide to the origins of our language. Wonderful stories reveal the real meaning of Adam’s apple, nick of time, stool pigeon, armed to the teeth, raining cats and dogs, at sixes and sevens, dog days of summer, and scores of others. With nearly 35,000 copies sold, this classic begins a new life with a fresh package and a new audience for entertaining reference books.



Publisher: New York : Lyons Press, c2001
ISBN: 9781585742189
158574218X
Branch Call Number: 422 KOR
Characteristics: xvii, 200 p. ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Mordock, John B.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top