The Jungle Law

The Jungle Law

Book - 2005
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Blending elements of fact and fiction, a debut novel chronicles the 1892 arrival of a nearly penniless Rudyard Kipling and his pregnant young wife in Vermont, his complex relationship with his neighbors, the Connollys, and his struggle to bring to life his story of a feral child raised by wild animals, a work that became The Jungle Books. 75,000 first printing.

Blackwell North Amer
In the tradition of The Hours and The Master, The Jungle Law offers a glimpse into the life of Rudyard Kipling and explores the deep divisions and connections between two families who change the course of each other's lives as they face the explosive power of the imagination.
In 1892, Rudyard Kipling fled the scrutiny brought on by his burgeoning fame in London and moved to Vermont with his pregnant wife and the germ of the story that would become his beloved classic, The Jungle Book. From this literary footnote, Vinton brings to life Kipling's early years in Bombay and England and shows how his troubled past formed the basis of his art and helped to inspire his most enduring character, Mowgli.
Mixing fact and fiction, Vinton intertwines Kipling's story with that of a nearby farming family, the Connollys. Eleven-year-old Joe Connolly finds himself drawn to Kipling and his tales, seeing in the adventures of Mowgli a new world of possibility and escape. Yet, Kipling's presence unsettles Joe's parents, Jack and Addie, leading them to question the decisions they have made and contemplate the meaning of family.

Baker
& Taylor

Chronicles the 1892 arrival of a nearly penniless Rudyard Kipling and his pregnant young wife in Vermont, and his struggle to bring to life his story of a feral child raised by wild animals, a work that became "The Jungle Books."

Publisher: San Francisco, CA : MacAdam/Cage, c2005
ISBN: 9781596921498
1596921498
Branch Call Number: F VIN
Characteristics: 303 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top