Every Last Cuckoo

Every Last Cuckoo

A Novel

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Workman Press.
Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they—with Sarah—nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her.


Baker & Taylor
A seventy-five-year old widow, Sarah finds new meaning brought to her life after her home becomes a kind of refuge for her restless granddaughter, an Israeli pacifist, a homeless mother and son, and a victim of domestic violence.

Blackwell North Amer
At age seventy-five, Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the familiar, steadfast company of her husband. But when Charles succumbs to an injury he suffered in the woods, she is left suddenly and inconsolably alone.
As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past. She remembers the intense joys and tough trials of her fifty-year marriage to Charles and the challenge of raising three very different children, particularly a daughter whose needs she never quite understood. And she lovingly recalls her own childhood, when her parents generously opened their home to friends and relatives during the Great Depression.
Curiously, her past comes full circle when several displaced people seek shelter in Sarah's big, empty home - breathing new spirit into a life she had thought was spent and done, and even offering the opportunity to mend the relationship that had troubled her the most. The first to arrive are Sarah's rebellious teenage granddaughter, Lottie, and two of her disaffected young friends. They are soon followed by an Israeli pacifist in need of a retreat, a young mother and son who've lost their home in a fire, and a woman and her infant fleeing a violent partner. This unlikely flock forms a family of sorts, whose members nurture and protect each other. Together, all of them, including Sarah, face their fears - both real and imagined - discover their hidden strengths and abilities, and slowly rebuild their lives.

Baker
& Taylor

Restless and unable to find peace in her rural Vermont home in the wake of her husband's death, seventy-five-year-old Sarah finds new meaning in her life when her home becomes a kind of refuge for wayward souls, from her troubled granddaughter and a family that lost their home to fire, to a mother and child fleeing an abusive partner and an Israeli pacifist needing a retreat. A first novel.

Publisher: Chapel Hill, N.C. : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2008
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9781565125414
156512541X
Branch Call Number: F MAL
Characteristics: 277 p. ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Andge1 Oct 25, 2012

A pleasant weekend read.

m
Melanie_0
Oct 16, 2010

An excellent read. Good book to share and talk about with another woman friend. Melanie

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top