Girl in the Blue Coat

Girl in the Blue Coat

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
7
2
Rate this:
"In 1943 Nazi-occupied Amsterdam, teenage Hanneke--a 'finder' of black market goods--is tasked with finding a Jewish girl a customer had been hiding, who has seemingly vanished into thin air, and is pulled into a web of resistance activities and secrets as she attempts to solve the mystery and save the missing girl"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Boston ; New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2016
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780316260602
0316260606
Branch Call Number: TEEN F HES
Characteristics: 301 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
melmccurdy
Jun 26, 2017

German occupation, Dutch resistance, a case of mistaken identity, hiding Jews, black market intrigue -- of all these elements make an intriguing and page turning YA WWII historical fiction novel. In fact, there were so many twists and turns at the end, I could have easily started the book again, to re-read what I missed the first time. For those who loved Salt to the Sea or Code Name Verity.

GCPL_Teen Jun 23, 2017

If you enjoy historical fiction with a strong female protagonist this is the book for you. As it is about the Holocaust, it is inevitably heavy.

Beautifully written with an intricate plot, The Girl in the Blue Coat is a memorable example of a young woman's bravery during WWII in Amsterdam. - Denise

t
TheresaAJ
Nov 28, 2016

Hanneke Bakker, a Dutch teenager in 1943 Amsterdam, supports her family by selling goods on the black market while working in a funeral home. When one of her customers reveals that the Jewish girl she was hiding has disappeared, Hanneke is drawn into the Dutch resistance by the older brother of her now deceased boyfriend. Over the next 5 days, Hanneke experiences enough fear and terror to last a lifetime. The author does a good job of portraying a society under German occupation and its diverse attitudes towards the occupiers. Hesse also doesn't let you forget that Hanneke is a teenager with all her brash confidence, thoughtlessness, and impetuous decisions. This story would be good fodder for book clubs for both teenagers and adults.

r
Reads_A_Lot
Sep 11, 2016

Good YA historical fiction set in WWII Amsterdam. An interesting group of young characters dealing with loss, betrayal, guilt and courage, during wartime. A small glimpse at the Amsterdam Student Resistance and a small mystery to keep the pages turning. I liked it.

AL_CATHERINE Sep 02, 2016

Riveting and intense, this Holocaust novel set in Amsterdam shows the daring of individuals and power of community during one of the world's darkest times. Fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity should definitely give this one a try!

a
amistein
Jul 15, 2016

boys

Quotes

Add a Quote

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“When things come to an end in a way you didn't expect, in a way you never could have imagined, do they really come to an end? Does it mean you should keep searching, for better answers, for ones that don't keep you up at night? Or does it mean it's time to make peace?”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“Maybe we can't barter our feelings away, trading good deeds for bad ones and expecting to become whole.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top