Frost Like Night

Frost Like Night

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
2
1
Rate this:
Game of Thrones meets Graceling in this action-packed fantasy—the highly anticipated final book in the New York Times bestselling Snow Like Ashes series by Sara Raasch. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses. Angra is alive, his Decay is spreading—and no one is safe.Meira will do anything to save her world. With Angra trying to break through her mental defenses, she desperately needs to learn to control her own magic—so when the leader of a mysterious Order from Paisly offers to teach her, Meira jumps at the chance. But the true solution to stopping the Decay lies in a labyrinth deep beneath the Season Kingdoms. To defeat Angra, Meira will have to enter the labyrinth, destroy the very magic she's learning to control—and make the biggest sacrifice of all.Mather will do anything to save his queen. He needs to rally the Children of the Thaw, find Meira—and finally tell her how he really feels. But with a plan of attack that leaves no kingdom unscathed and a major betrayal within their ranks, winning the war—and protecting Meira—slips farther and farther out of reach.Ceridwen will do anything to save her people. Angra had her brother killed, stole her kingdom, and made her a prisoner. But when she's freed by an unexpected ally who reveals a shocking truth behind Summer's slave trade, Ceridwen must take action to save her true love and her kingdom, even if it costs her what little she has left.As Angra unleashes the Decay on the world, Meira, Mather, and Ceridwen must bring the kingdoms of Primoria together...or lose everything.
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9780062287007
Branch Call Number: EBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_KELSEY Aug 18, 2017

As endings to trilogies go, this wasn't the worst I've read. The ending was a little anticlimactic for me, but this author does a fantastic job of building up the problem and the epic battles that ensue between good and evil. For lovers of this series, I think you will be very happy how this book resolves itself!

a
ADWithrow
Oct 20, 2016

This was a massive improvement over the second book in the series and wrapped things up nicely. A little too nicely for my taste, honestly. But it was still an enjoyable conclusion and was fast paced enough to keep me interested.

So to start...Meira. I still like the character but her growth here seemed to be a little too easy. After spending the last two books struggling with her it was a bit of a let down for her to suddenly et it all go and become everything that I would have liked to see develop slower over the course of the series. Book two spent so much time on nonsense that I think could have been better spent slowing building up to Meira's transformation. I liked the characters of Rares and Oana and how they played into her development but I feel like it was all so quick after all the prior issues.

Mather. I ended up caring more for him and his fate than I did for Meira by the end of this. The only time I really got emotionally involved was during Mather's struggles. I love that he was able to find happiness, but again, it was all a little quick. Too neatly tied up. I don't feel that Mather should have been left bereft, don't get me wrong. A happy ending suits the series and the plot line. I just wish the series was a little bolder in how it accomplished that happy ending. There was really no surprise for me here, none of the twists were all that entertaining since I could feel them coming miles away. Mather, though, grew enough for me to make this worthwhile.

I would have liked to see more of Theron's struggles throughout the whole series, but particularly in this book. He was a side note to Angra and the mentions of him were far and few between. And none of the interactions really delved into the issues that should have developed after book two.

Ceridwen and Jesse were great for me. As I stated, I was more interested in Mather, so I didn't focus much attention on this relationship. Again, no real surprises here. But it was distinctly refreshing to read the banter between these characters. It was especially refreshing to have two characters who were able to grow quickly in these circumstances. They didn't dwell on the decisions that needed to be made. They acknowledged their circumstances and acted accordingly in believable ways. I also love that this character is unashamedly herself. Jesse wasn't needed to make her strong or giver her purpose. He was there for support and as an anchor for her, as it should be. So often female characters find a man and suddenly defer to him in all things. But Ceridwen was still the warrior queen and wasn't about to give that up.

I did like the series. This book alone would realistically be three stars but the series as a whole gets four. I liked the story arc across the books, even though I think book two was a bit of a waste. Again, the story line wrapped up a little to easily and the relationships felt a bit rushed in the end but the overall idea was good.

Notices

Add Notices

c
carverJ
Oct 22, 2016

Sexual Content: There is sex between Mather and Meira

a
ADWithrow
Oct 20, 2016

Violence: There are war scenes, though not overly descriptive.

Age

Add Age Suitability

a
ADWithrow
Oct 20, 2016

ADWithrow thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top