Down From the Mountain

Down From the Mountain

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
"Fourteen year-old Eva tries to be a good disciple of Righteous Path, a polygamy cult in Colorado, but her forays into the 'heathen world' cause her to question all she knows"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Chicago, Illinois : Albert Whitman & Company, 2016
Edition: Paperback edition
ISBN: 9780807583722
0807583723
Branch Call Number: TEEN F FIX
Characteristics: 276 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
JEM_LPL
May 22, 2017

A quick thriller about a fourteen year girl stuck in an polygamous cult with her sick, pregnant mother and a dangerous Prophet who's begun stockpiling guns. Fortunately, the hero, Eva, is both clever and resourceful. A must read for fans of "The Chosen One" and "Keep Sweet".

e
epelto12
Oct 30, 2015

I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Albert Whitman & Company for an honest review.

Eva and her mother (her biological mother, not the other mothers on the compound) have lived with Righteous Path for over 10 years. They live simply, striving to always be better in God’s eyes than the heathens of the outside world. Eva, almost 15, is frightened — she will soon become one of Ezekiel’s wives, just like the rest of the women on the compound. She will have to begin her duty as a woman of trying to conceive offspring for Ezekiel, their elderly leader. Mother has been doing this for years, and she has just announced that she is with child. After Eva was born, the doctor said that she would likely die if she gave birth again. Without modern medicine or doctors to help, Eva is worried that this baby could be the end of her mother, the only person who makes her feel safe in this dangerous compound.

When Eva is given the task of creating and selling jewelry in a heathen flea market in Boulder, Colorado, she gets a chance to see the outside world that she used to live in. The nice people she meets can’t really be the devil trying to make her sin, to damn her, can they? She makes a few friends that help her see what she has been kept captive from seeing — that God is not the vengeful being that Ezekiel says, but a benevolent one who brings joy to those who believe. “Down from the Mountain” is a quiet psychological thriller set in a polygamist cult — it’d be a sin to miss this one.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top